Governance structure


Programme Directors

Henrique Queiroga (University of Aveiro, Portugal)

Ana Bernabeu (University of Vigo, Spain)


Executive Committee





Academic Committee












The Academic Committee is responsible for the definition and update of the curriculum, and for guaranteeing that the recommendations of the Quality Assurance Committee and of the External Advisory Committee are applied. Among others, the specific tasks of the Academic Committee include approval of the curriculum, course coordinators and syllabus, approval of international experts as course lecturers, selection of candidates, approval of the students’ supervisor(s) and thesis committees, indication of PhD juries, approval of the students’ Personal Career Development Plans based on the recommendations of the supervisors and thesis committees, and definition of minimum criteria to be eligible for supervision of PhD research.


Coordinators at the Associated Partners

David Paterson (School of Biology, St. Andrews University, Scotland)

Eric Thiébaut (Station Biologique de Roscoff, France)

Michel Mahiques (Instituto de Oceanografia, Universidade de S. Paulo, Brasil)


External Advisory Committee

Maria Teresa Dinis (University of Algarve, Portugal)

Steven Gaines Morgan (University of California Davis, USA)

Laurent Barrilé (University of Nantes, France)



Gabriel Rosón (Universidade de Vigo)

Carlos Pereira Dopazo (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela)

Rodolfo Barreiro (Universidade da Coruña)

Victoria Besada (Instituo Español de Oceanografia)

Natividade Vieira (Universidade do Porto)

Henrique Queiroga (Universidade de Aveiro)

Jesús Pedreira Dubert (Universidade de Aveiro)

Pedro Gomes (Universidade do Minho)

Edna Cabecinha (Universidade de Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro)

Ana Bernabeu (Universidade de Vigo)

Roberto López Valcárce (Universidade de Vigo)

Isabel Rodríguez-Moldes Rey (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela)

Enrique Peña González (Universidade da Coruña)

F. Javier Sanz Larruga (Universidade da Coruña)

José Antonio Orosa García (Universidade da Coruña)

Vicente Díaz Casás (Universidade da Coruña)

Begoña Santos (Instituo Español de Oceanografia)

Eva Balsa (Instituo de Investigaciones Marinas - CSIC)

The Executive Committee plus:

João Serodio (Universidade de Aveiro)

Cláudia Pascoal (Universidade do Minho)

Edna Cabecinha  (Universidade de Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro)

Marisa Monteiro   (Universidade de Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro)

José Canosa (Universidade de Vigo)

Jose Luis Soengas (Universidade de Vigo)

Juan José Pasantes (Universidade de Vigo)

María Teresa de Castro (Universidade de Vigo)